New Ideas for a Mess In Progress

I started Mess In Progress less than a year ago. It was a means of expressing myself creatively and of processing all the changes that were rapidly happening in my life. Not to mention, I just really wanted to try out a blog. Ever since then my mind hasn’t been able to stop spinning out new ideas. It’s like every few minutes I have a phrase or idea that will pop into my mind and if I don’t write it down immediately it flutters away. So as it’s a relatively a new year I want to try incorporating one of these ideas: a monthly video blog.

I admit it’s not an entirely original idea. YouTube is full of videos of people trying out challenges or recipes sometimes slightly intoxicated and sometimes stone cold sober with maybe a tad bit too much caffeine. So I want to do this with my own spin on it. And instead of worrying about how this may make me look or be embarrassed, I’m embracing it. If I want to give it a try, why shouldn’t I? It’ll probably be messy and I’m not promising top notch video quality or editing, but I can guarantee it will be fun. For me at least. I’m sure it’ll be hilarious, or hilariously boring, for you to watch.

Creativity is experimenting, growing, taking risks, breaking rules, making mistakes, & having fun.

-Mary Lou Cook

This idea came to me while I was in Europe. Being in a different country, even with people you may know, you realize all in the same moment how small you are, but also how important every person is. I had the time of my life and I forgot all of the worrisome details that had been stressing me out, but I missed the people who I have cultivated amazing relationships with. I thought of them often and wished I could share the experience with them. Sometimes we don’t realize how lucky we are to have people in our life and so I want to celebrate those relationships that I have.

Not only do I want to celebrate those relationships, I want to celebrate the individuals as well. I’ve met a lot of people in my measly twenty-three years of life. I haven’t liked all of them, but that’s not what this post is about. *stay tuned for blog post ranting about the haters* Everyone has something that they are known for, good at, or something that is a charming quirk. The things that make us different are what make us important. Why wouldn’t we want to celebrate that?

I’ve asked a few of my friends to be prepared to become famous and to come up with ideas for what they want to do. This may be my blog, but they are going to be the content creators for these videos. I’m really excited for what they come up with and I’m ready for the ugly-laugh-crying-so-hard-I-can’t-breathe moments that may come with it.

But just between you and me: I really just want to spend time with my awesome friends and family.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

