Songs That Sum Up My Life

Music is everywhere. It’s a part of life. Honestly, without music I wouldn’t be where I am today. Some of my earliest memories involve music. So I thought for fun I’d list a few songs that sum up my life or are significant to me.

snapchat-1134800230845504080

1. Nirvana, “Heart-Shaped Box”

I grew up listening to Nirvana. Imagine a kindergartner running around chasing her 18 year old aunt around singing “Come as You Are.” This was me. “Heart-Shaped Box” is by far one of my favorites. Nirvana is nostalgic to me and it reminds me of my first home.

2. Spice Girls, “Wannabe”

Tell me what you want what you really really want. I really want the Spice Girls to come back. If you know anything about me you know I’m a feminist. The Spice Girls were the start of it all. They had positive messages inside of their catchy pop songs, promoted girl power, and changed the world in the process. They were the first band I was obsessed with. To be honest I’m still pretty obsessed with them.

3. Bon Iver, “Skinny Love”

It’s beautiful and soft and perfect. This song gives me a sense of peace. When I hear it it starts an inner dialogue for me. I think about all of the things I’ve done, or haven’t done, that I regret. Instead of making me feel worse about those regrets it reassures me that everyone has something they wish would have turned out differently or that makes them sad.

4. Miley Cyrus, “Lilac Wine”

This song reminds me of my mom. It isn’t her favorite song by any means, but the entire essence of it is just her. The quality of her voice, the relaxed feel, the comforting feeling that it’ll all be there exactly as I left it if I ever need to go home. If you’ve never heard the Backyard Sessions Miley did in 2012 take a second to check it out. After hearing it I became a fan.

5. Fleetwood Mac, “Rhiannon”

For starters, all of Fleetwood Mac’s music is amazing. That has to be said. “Rhiannon” is on this list because almost every road trip I’ve ever been on it has, at some point, been played. It takes me back. To high school when I belted it with Bonnie in the car on the way to and from Bemidji. To various times traveling across the country with Logan. To driving up north alone for break every year. This is, without a doubt, my go-to road trip song.

6. Florence + the Machines, “Dog Days Are Over”

This song just makes me happy. It came out at a time when everything in my life was easy and now it serves as a reminder that things will get better eventually even if it doesn’t seem like it. Also, if you’ve never seen the music video you should check it out. It’s so artistically different from the average pop music video. It inspired me to start thinking about things more creatively and to try new things.

7. Any Arctic Monkeys

I think my love for this band stems from my early exposure to grunge rock as a child. The Arctic Monkeys are just the right amount of witty lyrics combined with grungy, dirty, indie rock. I could listen to them all day and not get tired of it. I’ve always had a soft spot for British indie rock and this band is by far my favorite in that category. If I had to pick an artist that just feels like me, it’s this band. So what I’m saying is if you really want to get to know me well you’ll listen to all of their albums ASAP.

8. Any Beyonce

When I need to get motivated or into “boss” mode, I put on Beyonce. I want to crush my work out? “Diva,” “7/11,” or “Flawless Remix” with Nicki Minaj. Want something to chill out with at the end of the night? “Halo,” “Drunk in Love,” or “Satellites.” Don’t even get me started on how fantastic Lemonade was. That album created a cultural movement of empowerment. Bey is Queen. End of story.

9. Any Frank Ocean

Frank Ocean is a genius. I had Channel Orange on repeat for over a year after hearing it once. This guy started as a ghost writer and slid under the radar for ever. His style of music has been described as “idiosyncratic.” It’s unique and rememberable. It combines all of the aspects of R&B and Hip Hop that I love. In the future when I think back to what I listened to in college the first artist that will come to mind will be Frank Ocean. Why? I don’t know. But his music just gets me.

10. Any Adele

Every time Adele has released an album, I have been going through a break up. Every. Time. Is there a correlation? I don’t know. The point is her music has been a source of comfort and strength for me when I was dwelling in how much relationships suck. Her power ballads, her lyrics, and the complexity of her music in the simplicity of how they sound makes her my favorite artist hands down.

 

And last but not least my honorable mentions, which is basically just a list of a few of my favorite songs/artists/albums that I think you should check out:

M.I.A., “Paper Planes”

Coldplay, “Yellow”

Santigold, “Les Artistes

Young the Giant, “Apartment”

Miguel, “Coffee”

 

Robyn, “Dancing On My Own”

Sam Sparro, “Black and Gold”

Volbeat, “Still Counting”

Amy Winehouse, Back to Black

Duffy, Rockferry

Banks, Goddess

Miranda Lambert

Waitress the Musical

—-Comment and let me know what songs sum up your life. Be sure to check back in next week for a new blog post!

Listen to all of the honorable mentions here:

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

