Why Being Sick in College is the Absolute Worst

I am determined to write a post a week. That’s the goal I set for myself when I began Mess In Progress. I had posts planned out, some of them already written, and then it happened. I got sick and I fell behind on everything. So I changed plans, threw on Friends, and am currently writing this post as quickly as I can before my self-imposed deadline of midnight hits. Here it goes.

All you want to do is nothing.

I woke up and my first thought was, how long can I stay in this bed? When I realized I had twenty minutes to get to class my second thought was, do I have to go to class? After I bullied myself into rolling out of bed, I begrudgingly made a breakfast shake and started to walk to class. My entire thought process consisted of figuring out when was the next possible moment I could lay back down in my warm, comfy, amazingly fantastic bed.

You can’t do nothing.

Which brings me to my next point, as an “adult” you can’t do nothing. You have to go to class, to work, do laundry, clean the house, run to the bank, remember to eat, remember to take cold medicine, try not to die from coughing,etc. It’s rough.

You have to take care of yourself.

I will be the first to admit that I am absolutely horrible at taking care of myself. I’m lucky if I remember to eat meals consistently because I just get so caught up in whatever it is that I’m doing. This is a regular occurrence even when I’m not sick. It gets a million times more challenging when I do come down with a cold.

In fact, when I lived at home I was the perfect example of the whiny child who refused to move from the couch and begged their mom for soup, more medicine, and another pillow. I whined about literally everything. This continued as I got older, but it was my ex-boyfriend who I pestered instead. Now, I’m single and as much as I would love to call up my mom, my ex, or even bother my roommates, to take pity on me, I realize I can’t. Actually, I realize I probably shouldn’t, but that doesn’t mean I don’t want to. But I won’t. I swear.

I don’t know about all of you but cold medicine makes me weird. I get a little loopy. I say the most random stuff. I laugh at things that aren’t funny. I’m extra moody. I feel nauseous and dizzy. I get overly dramatic. I actually think I’m going to die, but in reality I’m congested with a terrible cough and a slight fever and it’s about an hour after I took my cough syrup.

Being sick in college never ends.

I’m dead serious. As soon as you get better your roommate or your friend gets sick. You can actually see a cold work its way through a crowd of college students. That guy over there just coughed and two people down from him is a girl rubbing her nose because it’s starting to run. The Common Cold is an epidemic. It must be stopped.

Oh wait, am I being dramatic? No. Yes. No. Who cares.

I’m going to sleep. Wake me up when it’s over.

 

—Tune in next week for your regularly scheduled, completely normal blog post. Or something like it. Be sure to share or follow Mess In Progress to keep up to date on my completely messy beautiful life.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

